Primaries: The Likud Prepares to Choose its Candidates

December 11, 2014, JERUSALEM, Israel-- The Likud Central Committee approved yesterday the party chairman Prime Minister' Benjamin Netanyahu's proposals for the dates and structure of the Likud primary elections, which will now be held on December 31, 2014.

Those elections will include the content for party chairman and the party's Knesset list.

In voting for the Knesset list, Likud members will be allowed 11 votes for "national" slots on the list, while the party chairman will be allowed to choose two candidates in the first portion of the list: the 11th and 24th spots on the list.

Several others candidates in the first 25 slots will be chosen in districts (16, 18-19, 21-22) and will be reserved for the woman who receiving the highest votes (15 and 25 for a female on-incumbent).

Of the previous candidates on the Likud's list, three have resigned and are not expected to compete, including former Education Minister Gideon Sa'ar; former Minister of Culture and Sport Limor Livant, and former MK Carmel Hashama Cohen.

Members of Knesset Moshe Feiglin and Danny Danon are expected to compete with Netanyahu for the leadership of the party. Sa'ar who considered competing as well, announced that he would not.

Only dues-paying Likud members who have completed a waiting period of 16-months will be able to vote in the December 31 primaries. That number has been estimated as being up to 80,000 people.

No comments :

Post a Comment